Fellowship Week 6: Density of Housing and Business

Untitled Last week, I gathered data on housing and businesses in the Mission District of San Francisco. I’m going to use this data to style the real-time map of the neighborhood. Color will indicate types of housing and businesses. Lightness and darkness will be used to indicate density and level of human activity near buildings, such as Foursquare check-ins. For reference, here is Aurelia Friedlan’s mockup of this layer. 

Housing Density

I started with data from SF Planning, which includes the classification of residential zones in the district. This data include the maximum number dwelling units per lot. Here are the basic categories:

  • RM-1, Low-Density Mixed Apartments and Houses (1 unit per lot; 800 sq. feet per unit)
  • RM-2, Moderate-Density Mixed Apartments and Houses (3 units per lot; 600 sq. feet per unit)
  • RM-3, MediumDensity Mixed Apartments and Houses (3 units per lot; 400 sq. feet per unit)
  • RM-4, High-Density Mixed Apartments and Houses (3 units per lot; 200 sq. feet per unit)

I found a map of these categories in the very nice Accessory Dwelling Unit Handbook by Open Scope and SF Planning. Then, I created a CartoDB instance of the same data. sf-residential-density I also included information about the density of mixed-used a commercial properties in the Mission. I performed a spatial join of the zoning data with building footprints from Open Street Maps. Here is the resulting map layer: Mission_Buildings_by_Zoning_Density___CartoDB

Rentals & New Development

I decided to look at rental housing and new development projects. As it happens, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors received a report last week of new developments in San Francisco and the balance of affordable units in these developments. I cross-referenced this report with info from SF Planning about development since 2006. When I looked at the proposed mandate of 30% affordable housing for new developments, I found 3 units, include the project on 490 South Van Ness, which will now be all fully affordable. (I don’t have numbers for the number of affordable units at 1950 Mission St. and 17th and Folsom St.) From this data, I created a map of current development projects, including projects with greater that 15% affordable units. Mission_Housing_Projects_in_Progress___CartoDB

Apartment Keywords

A map of real estate listing and apartments is pretty boring, so I’m also looking at the feeling and emotion associated with apartment listings on Craigslist and other real estate websites. Here are some of the most commonly used words in Mission apartment listings:

  • Beautiful
  • Secured
  • Great
  • Vibrant
  • Limited
  • Awesome
  • Lovely
  • Charming
  • Clean
  • Sophisticated
  • Elegant

I like the idea of using these terms in social media analysis to find—perhap unexpectedly— related content.

More About Businesses

I want to fade out businesses on the map when they close. To achieve this, I’m using the excellent Factual API to retrieve information about businesses in the Mission with their closing time. Here is a heat map of businesses in the Mission District. Heatmap_of_Mission_POIs Next, I created a map that shows business opening on a Friday: mission-businesses
I did a spatial join of the points above with the OSM building footprints. Of course, there is often more than one business in a single building. This is evident from looking at the heatmap. For example, at the ActiveSpace building on 18th & Treat there are more that 50 businesses. Heatmap_of_Mission_POIs___CartoDB I need to figure out exactly how I’ll handle this in the final visualization. Buildings with more business will need to be brighter to a limit and then get darker are more businesses in the same business close. How should I style overlapping businesses?

Leave a Reply

